Forum time display is UTC  





Post new topic Reply to topic
  Print view

  Calculate the Power Supply you need
Author Message
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:11 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 16583
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
Ever wondered how big your power supply will have to be to work well with all your system components?

Then you can try this page where you can select the components of your PC and that will give you a decent (but also generous) estimate of what power supply you need.

(Formerly) Antec Power Supply Calculator
http://www.antec.outervision.com
New link: Power Supply Calculator


Also, pay attention to this note on the page:
The total PSU Wattage this tool recommends will give a general idea of the range of continuously available power (not peak power) at which you should be looking. But if you are planning to build a high end gaming system, total Amperage available on the +12V rails—and how that capacity is distributed—could be as or more important than total Watts of power.

So once you have established the likely power needs of your system, please make sure that any PSU you buy will provide sufficient Amps of current on the various rails for all of your devices, and that it will have the proven reliability, service and support you deserve.


For example, at the time of writing, some high-end graphic cards require 22A to 25A ONLY for them on a 12V rail.

(Amperage was the cause for the troubles Caveman experienced with his new system not long ago, as he posted on our forums.)


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2009 11:55 pm 
Hyde!
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 3458
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:26 am
On a tangent ... I found a Nvidia 9800GTOC from PNY this week that not only was smaller and quieter than my 9600GT but also did not require a secondary power connector. Worthy upgrade.


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 1:52 am 
Leetissimo!
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 2559
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:13 pm
Location: South Africa
Omg this is like a day too late lol I got a new PSU on the 2nd. A 470 Watt I just changed cases & the new one has 3 more fans & my pc kept randomly rebooting so I thought it was a power issue, turns out it might have been Win 7 or a heat issue cause it has stopped doing it & I havent installed the PSU.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
If its not broken, Your not trying hard enough!!

-DC-Grind42-Nightcrawler-
Damage Clan
General of Athen Paladins


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2009 8:57 am 
Maxi Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:55 pm
Location: Scotland
it will be most likely to be your pcu, if your PSU is not a branded one take 100 watts of it's total to get an accurate watts, also make sure each 12v+ rails are at least 25 amps each

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
------------------------------------------------------


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:46 am 
Leetissimo!
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 3202
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 8:05 pm
Agreed with Grind.. I bought all the parts for a new computer the day before Chris posted that. :roll:

I've bought myself a Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 btw and so it should be fine, since I don't use SLI or CrossFireX. Antec dudes say I should use a 362 watt PSU.. which is obviously far too little though. o.O IIRC even just my CPU+GPU together are 200ish more than that!

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
Lupusceleri L220/24 Agent.
Silversmith upcoming TL5 twink.
Wolfseye L110/12 Adventurer (towertwink).
Lysdexic L90/9 Agent (Mimic Enf towertwink).
Aesculapias L21/2 Doctor (ancient).

Aaaand various other alts.


Last edited by Alphacenta on Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:51 am 
Maxi Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:55 pm
Location: Scotland
on another note, some DDR 3 motherboards have a problem with DDR3 10600 1333mhz ram,i had to lower the fsb via bios to 1060mhz to run stable.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
------------------------------------------------------


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 8:53 am 
Leetissimo!
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 3202
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 8:05 pm
caveman wrote:
on another note, some DDR 3 motherboards have a problem with DDR3 10600 1333mhz ram,i had to lower the fsb via bios to 1060mhz to run stable.

Funny enough I had to go into BIOS and force my RAM to run at 1333 MHz manually, it auto'd to 1066 while the memory was clearly 1333. :)

That's on Asus P6T SE with an Intel Core i7 920 btw, using a triple channel kit from OCZ (Platinum Edition, 3* 2GB, 1333 MHz, low voltage).

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
Lupusceleri L220/24 Agent.
Silversmith upcoming TL5 twink.
Wolfseye L110/12 Adventurer (towertwink).
Lysdexic L90/9 Agent (Mimic Enf towertwink).
Aesculapias L21/2 Doctor (ancient).

Aaaand various other alts.


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 12:59 pm 
Maxi Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 537
Joined: Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:55 pm
Location: Scotland
lol Lup..my motherboard is an Asus too PQ5C it seems Asus has RAM issues

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
------------------------------------------------------


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Calculate the Power Supply you need
    PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2009 2:27 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 16583
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
Alphacenta wrote:
Antec dudes say I should use a 362 watt PSU.. which is obviously far too little though.


Maybe retry, you might have forgotten something or something on the form reset before you hit the button to calculate. So far, all the tests I made gave quite generous results so I'm surprised they give you less than needed. Or maybe the values regarding a specific component are bugged.


Top
 
 Profile  

 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Forum time display is UTC  


  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Athen Paladins is a large and old Organization of players ("Guild") founded in June 2003 in Anarchy Online,
a SF MMORPG created and published by Funcom (www.anarchy-online.com)
The names Anarchy Online and Funcom are the property of Funcom, Norway.
All trademarks and copyrighted material on this site are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved.
This site is a non-profit and non-commercial site, solely made for the entertainment of Anarchy Online players.
Athen Paladins is a non-profit association
Athen Paladins theme created by © Chrisax, based on 4poziom by © gokin (www.gokin.pl), and Subsilver2 & Prosilver by © phpBB (www.phpbb.com)
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2008 phpBB Group - Modifications by Chrisax and other authors.

W3 Consortium CSS approved