Forum time display is UTC  





Post new topic Reply to topic
  Print view

  Computer RAM
Author Message
    PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 10:58 am 
Strong Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Considering lately that the new game client seems to require more memory it seems to run AO, and you may have heard me moaning about not being able to dual log without big problems, my question is this.... How much RAM would anybody recommend to use to enable dual/triple/quad logging without any problems? I only have 1GB.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
We'll meet again, don't know where, don't know when. But I know we'll meet again some sunny day.
------------------------------------------------
Carpdiem 220 MA -- Bellatrix 220 Fix

Furymaster 220 MP -- Manhandle 215 Enf

All frozen until further notice


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Computer RAM
    PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 11:02 am 
Strong Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Or should I just go and get an up to date computer :?

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
We'll meet again, don't know where, don't know when. But I know we'll meet again some sunny day.
------------------------------------------------
Carpdiem 220 MA -- Bellatrix 220 Fix

Furymaster 220 MP -- Manhandle 215 Enf

All frozen until further notice


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Computer RAM
    PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 11:58 am 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 16583
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
On my previous system, after a patch (can't remember what one but quite big), I started to experience huge slowdowns, especially when ALT-tabbing between two AO sessions. I had 2GB. Adding 2 more solved the issue. (This certainly depends on screen resolution, settings, and drivers, etc.)

So I assume that 4GB could work.

My new system had directly 16GB, so I never had issues.

Putting 4GB in your computer shouldn't be too expensive. But if you change your computer anyhow, those 4GB won't probably fit in the brand new one, performance-wise (or even type-wise). So they will stay in your old one.

Changing your system, if the one you have is really old, is maybe a better idea. Depends if you want to try memory first.

Kingston ValueRAM is inexpensive and very reliable.

FWIW, last return-to-vendor statistics I got for a big European reseller say:
- Kingston 0.20% (last year 0.27%)
- Crucial 0.39% (last year 0.30%)
- G.Skill 0.95% (last year 1.01%)
- Corsair 1.18% (last year 1.06%)*

*(Corsair had to face huge issues for several month on their DDR3 RAM
- 4.92% : Corsair Vengeance 16 Go (4x4) DDR3 1600 CL9
- 4.46% : Corsair Vengeance LP Black 16 Go (4x4) DDR3 1600 CL9
- 4.35% : Corsair Vengeance LP Blue 16 Go (4x4) DDR3 1600 CL9
- 3.46% : Corsair XM3 8 Go (2x4) DDR3 1333 CL9
- 3.31% : Corsair XM3 16 Go (2x8) DDR3 1600 CL11)


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Computer RAM
    PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 3:16 pm 
Strong Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 117
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:56 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Thanks Chris, appreciate the answer :) . I eventually decided to go and get a new one in the end, there can't be that many people running AO on an old pentium 4 these days.

My new specs are

Intel core i7-3770 3.4 ghz
16Gb DDR3 RAM
Hard drive 2 TB
Nvidia GT630 2GB GDDR3
Windows 8 64 bit


Old specs were

Intel pentium 4
1GB DDR2 RAM (upgraded from 512 MB)
Hard drive 250MB
Nvidia GeForce 6200SE
Windows 7 32 bit (upgraded from Windows XP)


Quite a difference there, don't you think


With my new specs, does that mean I'll now be able to experience The Secret World and Age of Conan?

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
We'll meet again, don't know where, don't know when. But I know we'll meet again some sunny day.
------------------------------------------------
Carpdiem 220 MA -- Bellatrix 220 Fix

Furymaster 220 MP -- Manhandle 215 Enf

All frozen until further notice


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Computer RAM
    PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:48 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 16583
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
Yes, it would be a huge difference and it could run TSW or AoC well.

Nevertheless, the Nvidia GT630 is ONLY, despite its name, an old Nvidia GeForce GT 440 relabeled (yes the naming is deceptive as it let consumers think this card -and the models below it- uses the same GP as the "600" series released last year!).

I would recommend that you go for a bit lower CPU (to save money) and get a better video card like for example an Asus GeForce GTX 660 - 2 Go (GTX660-DC2-2GD5). The 660 being a real new generation of GPU. If you can just get the 660 and the i7, all fine of course.

For the current AO, the card won't make any real difference, as AO is currently mostly based on CPU. But for the future AO engine, and right no for TSW and AoC (and most games), it will make a serious difference. On the other hand, i7 and i5 CPU's will run our current AO well.


About the HD, I clearly prefer to have several HD's smaller than 1TB instead of a big one, because the failure rate is clearly higher on 1.5/2TB HD's. (Of course plenty of systems work with 2TB drives but still the failure rate is higher statistically.)

Western Digital and Seagate currently have the better return-to-seller rates, based on statistic from a large Euopean reseller. (But the WD Caviar Black 1,5 TB rockets to 5,04%). FWiW.
- Seagate 1.44%
- Western Digital 1.55% (WD and Seagate were respectively first and second last year, so the inervse situation, with 1.65% for Seagate and 1.44% for WD)
- Samsung 2.24%
- Hitachi 2.40%


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Computer RAM
    PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 4:51 pm 
Big Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2008 8:02 pm
Location: Denmark
HUGE!!!


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: Computer RAM
    PostPosted: Tue May 21, 2013 10:48 pm 
Leetissimo!
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 4916
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 9:41 am
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
I can quad log on my Asus G73h laptop.

I think it's from 2010 so it's not that spacey.

I do get a bit of problems if I'm running running running all over RK/SL but I think it's more about synch than my computer.

I do also get some overheating problems. I'm still trying to work these out but I can't play TSW for more than an hour without a crash, then i need to let my laptop sit for a while before I play again.

Alternately, if I dual log in pande, and am playing really hard/fast and moving a lot, and doing a lot of alt tabs, my computer CAN overheat. It did twice wile farming lusts for rodog last year, but other than that I've never had any problems with this computer.

Even playing stuff like star wars, I didn't have any problems, no graphics lag, etc.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
" I Don't Like That Man. I Must Get To Know Him Better." -Abraham Lincoln


Top
 
 Profile  

 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

Forum time display is UTC  


  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Athen Paladins is a large and old Organization of players ("Guild") founded in June 2003 in Anarchy Online,
a SF MMORPG created and published by Funcom (www.anarchy-online.com)
The names Anarchy Online and Funcom are the property of Funcom, Norway.
All trademarks and copyrighted material on this site are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved.
This site is a non-profit and non-commercial site, solely made for the entertainment of Anarchy Online players.
Athen Paladins is a non-profit association
Athen Paladins theme created by © Chrisax, based on 4poziom by © gokin (www.gokin.pl), and Subsilver2 & Prosilver by © phpBB (www.phpbb.com)
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2008 phpBB Group - Modifications by Chrisax and other authors.

W3 Consortium CSS approved