Page 1 of 1

Macros and Scripts

Posted: Thu Jul 17, 2014 2:37 pm
by Dargrin
Hi all,

Is there a way to cast nanos or use perks from macros and scripts? I'd like to be able to target my pet and use a perk Via a Macro. Plus there are many other uses if these work. :P

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 12:11 am
by noobas
I think there is a way to target pet 1 / pet 2/ pet 3 via a script but I don't recall what it is.

If you find that out, then it's easy, then just put your script on a hotbar (say, hotbar 3, slot 1), then put your perk in slot 2 and even a nano in slot 3.

then hit F10, go to key bindings, and put all three slots of hotbar 3 (1/2/3) to one key, then just press 1 button to target and perkbuff/nanobuff your pet.

done!

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 6:22 am
by Chrisax
I don't remember any way to select a pet with a game macro.

You can nevertheless select pets with the keyboard with
Shift F1, Shift F2, Shift F3
Unfortunately an awful bug makes you pets change their "slot" when you zone, so 1 becomes 3 for example.

You can thus have a keyboard macro to select the pet! For this you need a keyboard with easy macro functions: personally I use this one
http://gaming.logitech.com/en-us/produc ... g-keyboard
Image

18 macro keys, each key being able to store 3 macros, and the software allowing to create almost unlimited configurations for games or situations (soloing, raid, healer, tank...)

If that sounds overkill to you, the same brand offers keyboards with less macro keys.
http://gaming.logitech.com/en-us/gaming-keyboards
and also the G13 which is an additional macro keyboard
http://gaming.logitech.com/en-us/produc ... -gameboard

And you'll find keyboards with macro ability from other manufacturers. Razer for example. (Note that, in AO, you need separate macro keys so you can type text: being able to put a macro on, for example, your "h" key doesn't help!)

Don't forget also that you can use the "in-game" name of your pet to specifically send commands affecting only a specific pet. Like

/pet "Metaphysical Demon" attack (this works for ANY RK MP demon: the Cacodemon must be called that way)
/pet "The Rihwen" follow
/pet "Mortificant The Eternal" heal (will heal the selected target, if it is friendly and can be healed)
/pet "Mortificant The Eternal" rename Cookiemonster
/pet "Tumulten" attack (mez pet attacking = mezzing)

The headache is to determine what the game name is for the game engine. 5For exmaple, all MP's "Enmity" pets are "enmity"; don't use the adjective before the name, like Transcendent Enmiity.)


About macros:

First, please note that the directory to store scripts has changed since most guides were written:

It was something like C:\Program Files\Funcom/Anarchy Online/scripts (It could be another disk: contrary to popular belief, you can have programs on ANY disk or partition.)

But to follow a stupid rule of "Games for Windows" (which by default puts a ton of crap on your system disk C: if you don't know how to change it), it has been moved to the tree of the "user" and this translate into something like:
C:\Users\<name of the user>\AppData\Local\Funcom\Anarchy Online\<a random number which is specific to your AO install>\Anarchy Online\scripts
Or another disk if you changed the disk where Windows stores user's data.




To start with:

Scripting, Basic
http://arcanum.aodevs.com/gametech_basicscripts.html

Scripting, Advanced
http://arcanum.aodevs.com/gametech_advancedscripts.html

Power Macros
http://arcanum.aodevs.com/gametech_macros.html

The articles above are very old but still valid and well done, and progressive.


Also:

Introduction to Scripting
http://www.ao-universe.com/index.php?id ... =scripting
Massive article with a lot of info

html reference for scripting in ao
http://www.aoalliance.org/forums/viewto ... 03&start=0

ScriptEditor
http://www.ao-universe.com/index.php?id=41

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 8:22 am
by noobas
if you type /pet "the Riwhen"

without a command at the end does it select him?

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 8:44 am
by Chrisax
No, it will return a "command unknown" :x

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:00 am
by Elrojo
if you can find a way to do this, then please share. Its a pain as a pet class to keep having to target your pet to unmezz/root/snare etc in pvp, only to have to chain target changes while the other class just perma-debuffs your pets.

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Fri Jul 18, 2014 4:24 pm
by Dargrin
I always thought there was a way to simply target the pet, but maybe not. I thought the hard part was going to be to figure out how to use a perk once you have it targeted. Maybe I'm wrong ;)

There isn't a /target chat command?

I was thinking I would rename the pet something unique. Then create a script that would

/target pet
/delay
/use ability #1234567 (pet buff perk)
/delay
/asisst

and be done with it. You can see the immense benefits. Instead of use ability it would be whatever command uses the toolbar slot#

Do you guys know the actual command to use a specific toolbar slot?

If these don't work than Chris has the answer with a macro key. You would press the key and it would
SHIFT F1 (select pet)
DELAY
USE THE TOOLBAR ACTION (Evo or Perk or Dispell)
DELAY
ASSIST (if desired - I usually want to kill whatever he is killing)

The catch to this one would be, as Chris noted, you would have to fix your macro key assignment each time you zone. For PVP and raids this shouldn't be an issue. It would be part of your battle prep. For every day life, it would suck.

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 10:05 am
by Elrojo
its been a long time since I've looked at the key binding function, but I assume you can find the "target pet 1" command and change that to a particular letter (eg /) then you can also bind hotbar slots to that key also. In this case you could have the required buff or perk loaded on that hotbar slot. Thus hitting / would target pet and then activate the perk. However I always found that a bit hit & miss so i preferred to have a 2-key system, eg 1 key to target the pet and 1 key for the perks/buffs.

This is assuming "target pet" is an actual command you can change. Also its pretty slow in that you still would need to make changes on zoning and its a 2-button system

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Sat Jul 19, 2014 4:48 pm
by Chrisax
Unfortunately there is not function to target the pet automatically.

The variables that can be used for targeting in a macros are:
%m - Yourself (this will switch target to yourself automatically so you don't have to use the F1 key first)
%f - The mob / player you are fighting (this will switch targetto the fighting target automatically)
And
%t - Represents your current "any" target in a macro or chat line / command (for anything, heals, buffs, attack, chat... but you need to have targeted first so it doesn't auto-select anything at all; it's just a way to add an already targeted entity to a macro or chat line)

That said, the "auto-applies to pet(s)" does exist in the game but it's hard-coded specifically in some things and not in others. :evil:

For example, you don't need to select any pet to cast "Evocation of the Reinforced" buff that gives more endurance to MP pets: cast it and it automatically applies to all MP pets, selected or not. You don't even have to select one.

On the other hand, "Evocation of the Enraged" which is the combat pet top short-time buff requires the combat pet to be selected. :o :evil:

Even worse, the perk "Channel Rage" with is a very short time (30s) attack pet buff requires you to select the pet which is extremely annoying in a fight.

But "Improved Instill With Malign Intent", long duration damage buff (2 hours) doesn't not require to select the attack pet: it will automatically apply to the pet!

:?!: ](*,) :beta:

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:27 pm
by Dargrin
So my next two questions would be:

What is the chat command to use a hotkey?

I should be able to type "/1" (this is may example, please correct me)

.. to execute Hotbar 1 slot 1

So on Hotbar 1 slot 1, I want to have the SHIFT+F1 (there is a secondary hotkey you can make this. I checked it the other day but didn't try to set it) which will select a pet.

Another way to ask this first questions is: When I click on Hotbar 1 slot 1, what are the characters that are sent to the AO sever? I should be able to type them manually and get the same results, unless they use two different servers. :evil:

The second questions would be: What is the chat command to execute SHIFT+F1? Its often something like /SHIFT:F1 but who knows?

If we know how to execute a hotbar slot and we know how to execute a hotkey shortcut Via slash command then we can make a script that will select a pet and then buff him. Yes? No? =P~

That whole pet buffing inconsistancy thing Chris mentioned is so frustrating lol

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:51 pm
by Chrisax
Simply put: there is NO chat or script command to type a key triggering a function (select, cast, etc).

Keys in a script / macro will be treated as text characters.

For example /macro test 1 will just generate the character "1" but won't trigger the key "1"; /macro test ab will generate "ab", etc. And that will do nothing. If you want this to be in a chat channel, you have to specify the channel; like /macro test /s hello: this will shout "hello" in vicinity. "/o" would say "hello" in org channel, etc.

The reason why there is NO chat or script command to type a key triggering a function is precisely that, in 2000, AO devs wanted to avoid key sequences to be automatized and wanted instead keys to be pressed.

The only way to do what you want is a programmable keyboard allowing you to create macros, like the ones I posted above in this thread.

Re: Macros and Scripts

Posted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 12:10 pm
by Dargrin
:evil:

I totally don't mind that they are trying to stop the auto-bots from farming endlessly (though it didn't help right?). Actually I support it. But in that support of limiting game features, they need to have some issues resolved so folks like me don't go lookin gor solutions elsewhere!

Oh well.

I'm going to look into the keyboards! :D