Forum time display is UTC  





Post new topic Reply to topic
  Print view

  New harddrive
Author Message
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 11:57 am 
Leetissimo!
Offline

Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:10 pm
So my harddrive seems to be at its end of life with all the noise its making
So question is how do i get a complete transfer of whats on harddrive to a other?
Any suggestions on programs i can use for it ? so i can just transfer and then remove old hdd with new

Unfortunatly my motherboard does not support sdd so abit stuck to old hdd still

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
:apc:


Top
 
 Profile E-mail  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 12:36 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 19180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
I have to meet people just now but I'll be back to you after about this.

Still, if you MB supports SATA hard disks, it supports SSDs. Only the interface matters.

What you are thinking of is maybe "M2" SSDs that you plug directly on a special slot on the MB. But other SSDs, the majority, use a SATA interface like traditional HDs.

Do you know the model of your MB? I guess you bought it after advice here BTW, so maybe we have the references but I'm positive that it's the same MB you bought after asking on our forums, it supports SATA.

For the software, likely Acronis True Image that has a full trial of 30 days so enough to save your data without investing.
https://www.acronis.com/en-eu/personal/computer-backup/

I'll be back later to talk more. :)


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 1:17 pm 
Leetissimo!
Offline

Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:10 pm
Same motherboard still , getting old need to save up some money and upgrade it sometime :D

I will check with local pc store later today if he has some sdd with tradional connection.

I want to do it as fast as possible so i dont end up with no pc

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
:apc:


Top
 
 Profile E-mail  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:10 pm 
Leetissimo!
Offline

Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:10 pm
got a 480 gb ssd , the cpu cooler i got was a bit to big so i cant close cabinet completely :P but nvm that i will rather have a big cooler for summer , has a 120mm fan on it

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
:apc:


Top
 
 Profile E-mail  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 5:52 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 19180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
OK, so good you got a SSD on SATA interface.

And if you still have the MB Asus H81I-PLUS (viewtopic.php?p=66297#p66297) then you should connect your SSD to the high speed 6Gb/s SATA interface:


Connecting it to a slower one (the MB doesn't seem to have slower ones though) would still work but slower and that would be a shame for a SSD. For disk copy, it's not very important but make sure that you're on the fast SATA later to use your SSD to the best.


As for the software, get an Acronis trial (my first post). It will do the job. It's one of the very best programs for backup, disc copy, disk imaging, etc on the market and has been for many years.


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:17 pm 
Leetissimo!
Offline

Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:10 pm
Well problem it shows on device manger and in bios but not under my computer drives

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
:apc:


Top
 
 Profile E-mail  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 6:53 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 19180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
Check here

https://windowsreport.com/ssd-not-show-pc/
and here
https://www.partitionwizard.com/partiti ... ng-up.html

And tell me


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:39 pm 
Leetissimo!
Offline

Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:10 pm
Problem solved , needed to add a letter to it

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
:apc:


Top
 
 Profile E-mail  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:51 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 19180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
Great :) Anything else?


For the future, after doing your copy and have everything set up, get a simple HD/SSD health monitor software, like CrystalDiskInfo.

https://crystalmark.info/en/download/
(Get CrystalDiskInfo Standard Edition NOT CrystalDiskMark or exotic editions)

Manual:
https://crystalmark.info/en/software/CrystalDiskInfo/
(bottom of page)


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Tue Nov 19, 2019 10:06 pm 
Strong Leet
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:25 am
Shouldn't be enough of a change to get a non working copy/image, but if both drives work and SSD as primary, you could do a new install if you have media, boot from SSD, and then drag and drop what you need saved. Regular HD as secondary. Long as you have room.


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2019 11:28 am 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 19180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
Well, actually, yes, what Fuze says can be an easy (easier) solution.

1) Put the SSD as primary drive (even alone at start if it's easier)

2) Install Windows on the SSD (the way to do it depends on what form you got Windows)

3) Restrict Boot disk to primary disk (SSD) in the BIOS. This could be necessary as you also have Windows on the HD, to avoid confusion.

4) Connect the HD as second disk

5) Reinstall programs on the SSD

6) For Anarchy Online, you ONLY have to copy the Anarchy Online folder to the SSD and the preferences folder which is

DISK-LETTER:/Users/Windowsusername/AppData/Local/Funcom/Anarchy Online

7) Just copy what you want from the HD to the SSD


Creating a disk image of the HD and transferring it to the SSD is only necessary if you have a ton of installed programs you don't want to reinstall.


Top
 
 Profile  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 8:55 am 
Leetissimo!
Offline

Posts: 2256
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:10 pm
i used a program called macrium reflect . the program recommened in thread took ages to do so got tired of it .
Macrium reflect has a free edition so seemed to work alot faster , i have yet not tried to boot up on new drive

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ ____
:apc:


Top
 
 Profile E-mail  

 

  Re: New harddrive
    PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 2:13 pm 
President
User avatar
Offline

Posts: 19180
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 1:08 pm
Can you install Windows on the SSD?

Under what form did you Windows come?

Because, seeing how messy this is, I really think that it would be better to start fresh on the SSD and then copy data with file explorer and reinstall software (AO can be copied)


Top
 
 Profile  

 

Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

Forum time display is UTC  


  Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Athen Paladins is a large and old Organization of players ("Guild") founded in June 2003 in Anarchy Online,
a SF MMORPG created and published by Funcom (www.anarchy-online.com)
The names Anarchy Online and Funcom are the property of Funcom, Norway.
All trademarks and copyrighted material on this site are the property of their respective owners. All rights reserved.
This site is a non-profit and non-commercial site, solely made for the entertainment of Anarchy Online players.
Athen Paladins is a non-profit association
Athen Paladins theme created by © Chrisax, based on 4poziom by © gokin (www.gokin.pl), and Subsilver2 & Prosilver by © phpBB (www.phpbb.com)
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2008 phpBB Group - Modifications by Chrisax and other authors.

W3 Consortium CSS approved